NATO was established after world war 2 to prevent another world war or conflict between two superpowers that time and effort to build agency like this started on 4 March 1947, the Treaty of Dunkirk was ratified by France and the United Kingdom as a Treaty of Alliance and Mutual Assistance in the event of a reasonable invasion by Germany or the Soviet Union in the fallout of World War 2. In 1948, this union was enlarged to involve the Benelux countries, in the form of the Western Union and referred to as the Brussels Treaty Organization (BTO), founded by the Treaty of Brussels. Talks for a new military alliance that could also contain North America resulted in the signature of the North Atlantic Treaty on 4 April 1949 by the member states of the Western Union plus the United States, Canada, Portugal, Italy, Norway, Denmark, and Iceland.

Members include Albania, Belgium, Bulgaria, Canada, Croatia, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Montenegro, Netherlands, North Macedonia, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Turkey, United Kingdom, United States and the order of joining is

1949 – Belgium, Canada, Denmark, France, Iceland, Italy, Luxembourg,  Netherlands, Norway, Portugal,  United Kingdom, United States.

1952 – Greece, Turkey

1955 – Germany

1982 – Spain

1999 – Czech Republic, Hungary, Poland

2004 – Bulgaria, Estonia, Latvia, Lithuania, Romania, Slovakia, Slovenia

2009 – Albania, Croatia

2017 – Montenegro

2020 – North Macedonia

And many partners nation of NATO is Armenia, Austria, Azerbaijan, Belarus, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Finland, Former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia, Georgia, Ireland, Kazakhstan, Kyrghyz Republic, Malta, The Republic of Moldova, Russia, Serbia, Sweden, Switzerland, Tajikistan, Turkmenistan, Ukraine, Uzbekistan.

There are four main fundamental principles which NATO want to do

Solidarity – The North Atlantic Treaty Organization is (NATO) is an alliance of 29 countries from North America and Europe committed to fulfilling the goals of the North Atlantic Treaty signed on 4 April 1949.

Freedom – In accordance with the Treaty, the fundamental role of NATO is to safeguard the freedom and security of its member countries by political and military means.

Security – NATO safeguards the Allies’ common values of democracy, individual liberty and the rule of law, and the peaceful resolution of disputes and promotes these values throughout the Euro-Atlantic area.

Transatlantic link – The Alliance embodies the transatlantic link by which the security of North America and Europe are permanently tied together. It is the practical expression of an effective collective effort among its members in support of their common interests.

Although NATO is an active and leading contributor to peace and security on the international stage. It promotes democratic values and is committed to the peaceful resolution of disputes. However, if diplomatic efforts fail, it has the military capacity needed to undertake crisis-management operations, alone or in cooperation with other countries and international organizations. Through its crisis-management operations, the Alliance demonstrates both its willingness to act as a positive force for change and its capacity to meet the security challenges of the 21st century, as well as NATO operations, contain in Afghanistan, Kosovo, Monitoring the Mediterranean Sea, Counter-piracy off the Horn of Africa and Air policing missions.

Despite the fact that NATO was able to stop the aggression by the Soviet Union or Russia from the last 70 years Donald Trump president of the United States of America want to dissolve NATO and many time Donald trump blamed other NATO members for not spending 2℅ of their GDP and he thinks that there is no need for this kind of partnership globally.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here